Sammelband: Exile and Migration

Exile and Migration

New Reflections on an Old Practise

- In englischer Sprache -

Studien zur Anglistik und Amerikanistik, volume 30

Hamburg , 148 pages

ISBN 978-3-8300-9011-3 (print)
ISBN 978-3-339-09011-9 (eBook)

Rezension

[...] invariably fresh and stimulating.
in: Anglistik, 29.1 (2018)


about this book deutsch english

Exile and migration are as old as the history of Mankind. From time immemorial innumerable migrations “took place”, the settlement of the globe would have been impossible without peoples and their cultures moving across continents and oceans. Migration caused by a wide range of social, political and economic circumstances therefore is a basic experience of human existence and preceded settlement.

Exile per definitionem is characterised by compulsion. While migration describes the act of intentional moving to a chosen destination, exile is the enforced place/space remote from a place/space of origin.

Under the conditions of modernity both migration and exile also define states of mind, where distance to and exclusion from the cultural and political mainstream result from oppositional or alternative gender, class and race discourses.

Finally, literature, the fine as well as media arts represent a metaphorical form of exile and migration in that counter-strategies formulate resistance to the given order from the self-willed margin.

The present volume makes use of a fresh interest in the study of migration and exile from the fields of literature and linguistics. Scholars from the Department of English at Szczecin University (Poland) utilise their expertise from disciplines such as cognitive linguistics, media and cultural studies and literary studies. Their articles address core issues like culture and identity, memory and desire, language and space.

Ihr Werk im Verlag Dr. Kovač

Bibliothek, Bücher, Monitore

Möchten Sie Ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit publizieren? Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere günstigen Konditionen und unseren Service für Autorinnen und Autoren.

Weitere Bücher des Herausgebers

Sammelband: Perspectives on Canada

Perspectives on Canada

International Canadian Studies despite Harper and Trudeau

Hamburg , ISBN 978-3-339-10134-1 (Print), ISBN 978-3-339-10135-8 (eBook)


Sammelband: Despite Harper: International Perceptions of Canadian Literature and Culture

Despite Harper: International Perceptions of Canadian Literature and Culture

Hamburg , ISBN 978-3-8300-7412-0 (Print), ISBN 978-3-339-07412-6 (eBook)

This highly readable and informative volume of essays on international perceptions of Canadian…
This highly readable and informative volum…"> in: Anglistik,
Nach oben ▲

Sammelband: Exile and Migration

Exile and Migration

New Reflections on an Old Practise

- In englischer Sprache -

Studien zur Anglistik und Amerikanistik, Band 30

Hamburg , 148 Seiten

ISBN 978-3-8300-9011-3 (Print)
ISBN 978-3-339-09011-9 (eBook)

Rezension

[...] invariably fresh and stimulating.
in: Anglistik, 29.1 (2018)

Zum Inhalt

deutsch english

Exil und Migration sind so alt wie die Geschichte der Menschheit. Seit Menschengedenken haben unzählige Migrationen stattgefunden, die Besiedlung der Erde wäre ohne die Wanderbewegungen von Menschen und ihren Kulturen nicht möglich gewesen. Migration verursacht durch eine Vielzahl von sozialen, politischen und ökonomischen Umständen ist deshalb eine Grunderfahrung menschlicher Existenz und ging der Sesshaftwerdung voraus. Exil ist per Definition durch Zwang gekennzeichnet. Während Migration den Akt einer willentlichen Bewegung zu einem erwählten Ziel meint, ist Exil der erzwungene Ort fern vom Ursprungsort.

Unter den Bedingungen der Modernität, beschreiben Migration und Exil auch geistige Zustände, die im Abstand zum und im Ausschluss vom politischen und kulturellen Mainstream durch oppositionelle und/oder alternative Diskurse ausgelöst werden.

Schließlich stehen Literatur, die schönen Künste und andere Formen künstlerischen Schaffens für metaphorische Formen von Exil und Migration, indem Gegenentwürfe den Widerstand zur vorgegebenen Ordnung vom eigensinnigen „Rand“ her definieren.

Dieser Band macht sich das neue literatur- und sprachwissenschaftliche Interesse an Migration und Exil zunutze. Wissenschaftler vom Institut für Anglistik und Amerikanistik der Universität Szczecin (Polen) bringen ihre Kenntnisse aus der kognitiven Linguistik, der Medien- und Kulturstudien und der Literaturwissenschaften ein, um Kernbereiche wie Kultur und Identität, Erinnerung und Sehnsucht wie auch Sprache und Ort kritisch zu hinterfragen.

Ihr Werk im Verlag Dr. Kovač

Bibliothek, Bücher, Monitore

Möchten Sie Ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit publizieren? Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere günstigen Konditionen und unseren Service für Autorinnen und Autoren.

Nach oben ▲