Dissertation: Women and Power in Fantastic Societies

Women and Power in Fantastic Societies

Femininity and Power in J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, and Anne Bishop’s The Black Jewels

POETICA – Schriften zur Literaturwissenschaft, volume 168

Hamburg , 340 pages

ISBN 978-3-339-12038-0 (print)
ISBN 978-3-339-12039-7 (eBook)

about this book

deutsch english

Since the 1990s, modern Fantasy has established itself in popular culture as one of the commercially most successful genres. Authors like Terry Pratchett, Philip Pullman and J.K. Rowling were essential in anchoring Fantasy permanently into the mainstream. Peter Jackson’s film adaptation of J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings and, in the more recent past, the HBO series Game of Thrones have further solidified this development.

The enormous commercial success and the resulting spread of genre fiction further led to an increasing interest in Fantasy in the academic sector. David Beck’s book focuses on aspects of femininity and power and uses selected works of Second World Fantasy to offer valuable insights into the interconnectivity between the two phenomena.

Gender and power are first discussed in theoretical considerations. The social production of gender by means of perception and performance, as well as the conceptualization of gendered normality are at the centre of the socio-psychological observations of femininity. With regards to the phenomenon of power, the focal point lies on relational aspects of power, power resources and the interaction between power and gender.

Afterwards, the study traces the theoretical insights throughout three examples of Second World Fantasy: J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, as well as Anne Bishop’s The Black Jewels. The three titles were chosen due to their differences in the social setup of femininity, as well as their differing subgenres within the Fantasy genre. The conceptualization and production of femininity in societies which are explicitly not the known, ’real’ world are at the forefront of this process. The study furthermore provides insight into the influence of gender on the power structures surrounding female characters in those societies.

The book offers a deliberately removed view on contemporary, highly relevant issues of the primary world through the kaleidoscope of fantastic worlds. In doing so, it reinforces the transcending potential and the ever increasing social and academic relevance of the Fantasy genre.

keywords

Gender Studies

Ihr Werk im Verlag Dr. Kovač

Bibliothek, Bücher, Monitore

Möchten Sie Ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit publizieren? Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere günstigen Konditionen und unseren Service für Autorinnen und Autoren.

Dissertation: Women and Power in Fantastic Societies

Women and Power in Fantastic Societies

Femininity and Power in J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, and Anne Bishop’s The Black Jewels

POETICA – Schriften zur Literaturwissenschaft, Band 168

Hamburg 2020, 340 Seiten
ISBN 978-3-339-12038-0 (Print), ISBN 978-3-339-12039-7 (eBook)

Anne Bishop, A Song of Ice and Fire, Das Lied von Eis und Feuer, Der Herr der Ringe, Die schwarzen Juwelen, Englische Literaturwissenschaft, Fantasy Literatur, Femininität, Gender Studies, George R. R. Martin, J. R. R. Tolkien, Macht, The Black Jewels, The Lord of the Rings

Zum Inhalt

deutsch | english

Seit den 1990er Jahren hat sich die moderne Fantasy als eines der kommerziell erfolgreichsten Genres innerhalb der Popkultur etabliert. Autoren wie Terry Pratchett, Philip Pullman und J. K. Rowling trugen maßgeblich dazu bei, die Fantasy dauerhaft im mainstream zu verankern. Peter Jacksons Filmadaption von J.R.R. Tolkiens The Lord of the Rings und, in jüngerer Vergangenheit, die HBO Serie Game of Thrones verfestigten diese Entwicklung weiter.

Der enorme kommerzielle Erfolg und die damit stark steigende Verbreitung von Genre Werken führte auch zu zunehmendem Interesse im akademischen Bereich. David Becks Buch hebt hierbei vor allem Aspekte von Weiblichkeit und Macht hervor und liefert wertvolle Erkenntnisse zum Zusammenspiel der beiden Phänomene in ausgewählten Beispielen der Second World Fantasy.

In theoretischen Betrachtungen werden zunächst Geschlecht und Macht allgemein diskutiert. Die soziale Produktion von Geschlecht durch die Faktoren Wahrnehmung und Performance, sowie die Gestaltung geschlechtlicher Normalität stehen im Zentrum der soziologisch-psychologischen Betrachtung von Weiblichkeit. Hinsichtlich des Phänomens Macht liegt der Schwerpunkt auf relationalen Aspekten der Macht, Machtressourcen und der Interaktion zwischen Macht und Geschlecht.

Anschließend verortet die Studie die gewonnen theoretischen Erkenntnisse am Beispiel von drei Werken der Second World Fantasy: J. R. R. Tolkiens The Lord of the Rings, George R. R. Martins A Song of Ice and Fire, sowie Anne Bishops The Black Jewels. Die drei Werke wurden mit Bezug auf ihre grundlegend unterschiedliche Ausgangspositionierung von Weiblichkeit, sowie aufgrund ihrer Zugehörigkeit zu unterschiedlichen Subgenres innerhalb der Fantasy gewählt. Im Vordergrund stehen hierbei die Konzeption und Produktion von Weiblichkeit in Gesellschaften, die explizit nicht der uns bekannten realen Welt entsprechen. Desweiteren werden geschlechtliche Einflüsse auf die Machtstrukturen weiblicher Figuren in diesen Gesellschaften untersucht.

Durch die Betrachtung hoch aktueller sozialer Themen durch das Kaleidoskop fantastischer Welten ermöglicht die Studie einen bewusst entrückten Blick auf die primäre Welt und bekräftigt somit das transzendierende Potenzial und die zunehmende gesellschaftlich-wissenschaftliche Relevanz des Fantasy Genres.



Informationen über das Veröffentlichen wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten.

nach oben