Doktorarbeit: Theanthropologie – Grundzüge der Anthropologie und Christologie André Scrimas

Theanthropologie – Grundzüge der Anthropologie und Christologie André Scrimas

THEOS – Studienreihe Theologische Forschungsergebnisse, volume 132

Hamburg , 478 pages

ISBN 978-3-8300-9480-7 (print)
ISBN 978-3-339-09480-3 (eBook)

Rezension

[...] The quality of theological argumentation and the ability to synthesize a complex and difficult theological discourse makes Cristian Sibișan’s work a useful contribution to the process of interpreting Scrima’s work. In addition, the book has the role of an invitation addressed to the German-language theological community to discover a little-known but very original orthodox thinker.


about this book deutsch english

André Scrima (1925–2000) was a Romanian-Orthodox monk, Vice President and member of Académie Internationale des Sciences Religieuses (Brussels) and Professor of Orthodox Theology, Comparative Religious Studies and Epistemology in Beirut. He was the official Representative of the Patriarchate of Constantinople at the Second Vatican Council. He is remembered for developing an interreligious program for Christian and Muslim students, which he spearheaded with Augustin Dupré La Tour SJ, Rector of the Lebanese University of Saint-Joseph, and two Muslim professors at a time of great discord and religious factionalism arising from the civil war in Lebanon in the 1970s. During this time André Scrima was also an adviser to the Rothko Chapel Foundations, Houston (Texas).

Scrima’s thought was heavily influenced by his membership in the Burning Bush, a community of monks and intellectuals focused on theology, art and literature at the monastery of Antim in Bucharest. While the majority of this community was arrested by the new communist regime in 1958, Scrima had left the country in 1956. He returned to Bucharest after the fall of communism to spend the last years of his life there. Most of his writings are archived in the New College Europe, Institute for Advanced Study in Bucharest.

Scrima is known for his contribution to the field of apophatical anthropology. His interest in this area was sparked by what he perceived to be failed communist ideology, as well as a desire to understand his Orthodox faith in light of other world ideologies and religions. In contrast to the over-simplified anthropology of communism, Scrima grounded his anthropology in man’s identity as image of God. According to him, man’s nature and ultimate purpose can only be understood apophatically in light of the resurrection of Jesus Christ, the God-man. This work presents André Scrima’s synthesis of anthropology and Christology in the light of the Orthodox teaching of apophatism.

Ihr Werk im Verlag Dr. Kovač

Bibliothek, Bücher, Monitore

Möchten Sie Ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit publizieren? Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere günstigen Konditionen und unseren Service für Autorinnen und Autoren.

Nach oben ▲

Doktorarbeit: Theanthropologie – Grundzüge der Anthropologie und Christologie André Scrimas

Theanthropologie – Grundzüge der Anthropologie und Christologie André Scrimas

THEOS – Studienreihe Theologische Forschungsergebnisse, Band 132

Hamburg , 478 Seiten

ISBN 978-3-8300-9480-7 (Print)
ISBN 978-3-339-09480-3 (eBook)

Rezension

[...] The quality of theological argumentation and the ability to synthesize a complex and difficult theological discourse makes Cristian Sibișan’s work a useful contribution to the process of interpreting Scrima’s work. In addition, the book has the role of an invitation addressed to the German-language theological community to discover a little-known but very original orthodox thinker.

Zum Inhalt

deutsch english

André Scrima (1925–2000), rumänisch-orthodoxer Mönch, Vertreter des Patriarchats von Konstantinopel beim II. Vatikanischen Konzil, war Vizepräsident und Mitglied der Académie Internationale des Sciences Religieuses (Brüssel), aber auch Professor für Orthodoxe Theologie, Vergleichende Religionswissenschaft und Erkenntnistheorie in Beirut. Augustin Dupré La Tour SJ, der Rektor der libanesischen Universität Saint-Joseph, und André Scrima entwarfen zusammen mit zwei muslimischen Professoren das Projekt einer Fachrichtung für muslimisch-christliche Studien in der zerrissenen Gesellschaft des Libanons der 70er Jahre. Zur gleichen Zeit war Scrima wissenschaftlicher Berater der Rothko Chapel Foundations, Houston (Texas).

Sein Denken gewann sein eigentümliches Profil im Kloster Antim, in Bukarest, inmitten des Brennenden Dornbuschs, ein Kreis von intellektuellen Laien und Mönchen jener Zeit. Während die meisten Mitglieder dieses Freundeskreises von dem neu etablierten kommunistischen Regime 1958 verhaftet wurden, reiste André Scrima 1956 aus. Der für die Ökumene und für den interreligiösen Dialog engagierte Archimandrit verbrachte seine letzten zehn Jahre seines Lebens in Bukarest, wo er in vielerlei Hinsicht aber v. a. theologisch aktiv blieb. Ein beträchtlicher Teil seiner Schriften wurde post mortem vom New College Europe. Institute for Advanced Study in Bukarest veröffentlicht, welches das gesamte Archiv von André Scrima aufbewahrt.

Die anthropologische Thematik verdankt ihren Vorrang, im Denksystem Scrimas, v. a. der Rolle der Einwirkung in der Gesellschaft des kommunistischen Regimes, aber auch verschiedener religiöser Ideologien. Gegen solche reduktionistische Anschauungen schlägt Scrima die Identität des Menschen als Ebenbild Gottes vor. Der Wesensgrund seiner selbst ist dem Menschen verborgen, der aber durch den Auferstandenen Christus offenbart wird. Dies führt zur These: Ohne christologische Bezüge seien das Wesen und die Endbestimmung des Menschen nicht zu verstehen. Die anthropologischen und christologischen Hauptmotive, aber auch eine eingehende Analyse der Apophatismuslehre, so wie sie sich in unmittelbarer Verwobenheit in den Schriften eines Lehrlings und Freundes des Dogmatikers Dumitru Stăniloaes erschließen lassen, bilden den Fokus dieser Studie.

Ihr Werk im Verlag Dr. Kovač

Bibliothek, Bücher, Monitore

Möchten Sie Ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit publizieren? Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere günstigen Konditionen und unseren Service für Autorinnen und Autoren.

  Nach oben ▲