Forschungsarbeit: From ‘Pagan‘ Boy to Church Prelate: Archbishop Kpiebaya in Northern Ghana Church History

From ‘Pagan‘ Boy to Church Prelate: Archbishop Kpiebaya in Northern Ghana Church History

Buch beschaffeneBook-Anfrage

Studien zur Kirchengeschichte, volume 30

Hamburg , 440 pages

ISBN 978-3-8300-9736-5 (print) |ISBN 978-3-339-09736-1 (eBook)

About this book englishenglish

This book deals with the history of the peoples and the Catholic Church in Northern Ghana with emphasis on the unique leadership role that Archbishop Gregory Ebo Kpiebaya, Archbishop-Emeritus of Tamale, played in the evangelisation history of Northern Ghana peoples.

The work delves into the migration histories and tribal formation of the peoples of Northern Ghana, particularly the Dagaaba/Dagara, their social organisation and family culture which define their identity. Their struggles with succession disputes, slave-raiding, slave trade and inter-tribal, armed conflicts in the last quarter of the 19th century are also narrated. It also shows how some European nations scrambled for a political stake in the area (in the last decade of the 19th century) and how the Northern Territories was eventually annexed as part of the British Colony of the Gold Coast (at the beginning of the 20th century). The new social and geopolitical groupings and identities and the new colonial systems of governance and their impact on Northern Ghana traditional societies are also discussed.

The book treats the history of the christianisation of Northern Ghana. It traces the beginnings, growth and development of the Catholic Church in Northern Ghana against the background of early Christian presence in Africa and the initial evangelisation of Southern Ghana. This history is the story of the Missionaries of Africa (White Fathers), of how they struggled with vexing colonial policies, traditional religion and customs, Islam and poverty to introduce Christianity, formal education and modern development in Northern Ghana. The book shows how the Catholic Church grew from an outstation of Ougadougou at Navrongo (1906) to the Tamale Ecclesiastical Province (1977) and five Dioceses (1999) under indigenous episcopal leadership. Also amply shown is the contribution of the Society of African Missions (SMA) up to 1953, of the SVD since 1960, and of Protestant missionary bodies to the christianisation of Northern Ghana peoples.

The book then focuses on Archbishop Kpiebaya. It describes how he grew from humble origins in his Kpiebaya family in Nanvilli, Upper West Region, and how he developed into a great shepherd-leader in the Catholic Church in Ghana. Particular emphasis is placed on how he built up the Church in Northern Ghana, especially in the Diocese of Wa and the Archdiocese of Tamale, through his visionary shepherd-leadership. The pastoral methods he employed and his leadership and administrative skills and human qualities are described in detail. The book concludes with his views on the prospects and challenges of the Church in Northern Ghana in the 21st Century.

The work is thus not just a biography of Archbishop Kpiebaya, but also a summary of the history of the society and the Church in Northern Ghana and a treatise on pastoral theology and leadership. The epic prologue and epic epilogue, depicting the same prose story in verse, takes the book beyond the realm of history, biography and theology to the field of literature. The interdisciplinary content of the book makes it an important source for several research areas: secular history, culture, anthropology, theology, development, church history and English literature.

Ihr Werk im Verlag Dr. Kovač

Bibliothek, Bücher, Monitore

Möchten Sie Ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit publizieren? Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere günstigen Konditionen und unseren Service für Autorinnen und Autoren.

Weiteres Buch des Autors

Dissertation: The Family as Subject of Moral Education in the African Context

The Family as Subject of Moral Education in the African Context

Incarnating Christian Ethics among the Dagara of North-western Ghana

Hamburg , ISBN 978-3-8300-0239-0 (Print)

Forschungsarbeit: From ‘Pagan‘ Boy to Church Prelate: Archbishop Kpiebaya in Northern Ghana Church History

From ‘Pagan‘ Boy to Church Prelate: Archbishop Kpiebaya in Northern Ghana Church History

Studien zur Kirchengeschichte, Band 30

Hamburg , 440 Seiten

ISBN 978-3-8300-9736-5 (Print)
ISBN 978-3-339-09736-1 (eBook)

Zum Inhalt

deutsch english

Das Buch „From ‘Pagan’ Boy to Church Prelate. Archbischof Kpiebaya in Northern Ghana Church History? („Vom ‘Heidenkind‘ zum Kirchenfürst. Erzbischof Kpiebaya in der Kirchengeschichte Nordghanas“) schildert die Geschichte der Bevölkerung und der Katholischen Kirche im Norden Ghanas mit dem Schwerpunkt auf dem Beitrag, den Erzbischof Gregory Ebo Kpiebaya, Erzbischof-Emeritus von Tamale, Ghana, dabei geleistet hat.

Erforscht wird die Wanderungsgeschichte und die Stammesbildung der Bevölkerung im Norden Ghanas, besonders die der Dagaaba/Dagara. Ihre soziale Organisation und Familienkultur, durch die sich ihre Identität bestimmt, wird beschrieben. Außerdem werden die ständigen kämpferischen Auseinandersetzungen der Menschen, sowie Menschenraub, Sklavenhandel und die bewaffneten Konflikte zwischen den Stämmen im letzten Viertel des 19. Jahrhunderts dargestellt. Dazu wird gezeigt, wie europäische Staaten um die polititsche Vorherrschaft in der Region gerungen haben und wie ‘The Northern Territories‘ schließlich als Teil der britischen Kolonie Goldküste (zu Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts) annektiert wurde. Erörtert wird der Einfluß des kolonialen Verwaltungssystems auf die traditionellen Gesellschaftsformen. Gleichzeitig aber führte die Kolonisation in eine Periode von politischer Beruhigung, sozialer Stabilität und Sicherheit in den nördlichen Gebieten, was den Weg für missionarische Unternehmungen und moderne Entwicklung frei machte.

Das Buch handelt von der Geschichte der Christianisierung in Nord-Ghana im Hintergrund der früheren Evangelisierung Afrikas und Süd Ghanas. Die Afrikamissionare (Weißen Väter) kämpften mit der restriktiven Kolonialpolitik und der Armut, mit traditioneller Religion, traditionellen Gebräuchen und dem Islam, um das Christentum einzuführen und ein formelles Bildungssystem und damit die moderne Entwicklung in Nord-Ghana einzuleiten. Das Buch zeigt, wie die Katholische im Norden Ghanas wuschs von einer Außenstation von Ougadougou (1906) zu einer Kirchenprovinz in (1977) und sich seit 1999 unter 5 Diözesen teilt und von einheimischen Bischöfen geleitet wird. Der Beitrag der Gesellschaft der Afrika Mission (SMA) bis 1953, von der Steyler Missionaren (SVD) seit 1960 und der Protestantischen Missionskörperschaften für die Christianisierung der Bevölkerung in Nord-Ghana wird auch geschildert.

Die besondere und einzigartige Bedeutung von Erzbischof Kpiebaya für diese Entwicklung ist das Kernthema des Buches. Es wird beschrieben, wie Erzbischof Kpiebaya in bescheidenen Verhältnissen in der Kpiebaya Familie in Nanvilli, Upper West Region, aufwuchs, und zeigt seine Entwicklung zu einem großen Hirten der Katholischen Kirche in Ghana, der es schaffte, die Kirche in Nord-Ghana aufzubauen, besonders in Wa und Tamale. Seine menschlichen Qualitäten, seine wegweisenden pastoralen Methoden und sein Geschick bei der kirchlichen Verwaltung werden aufführlich dargestellt. Das Buch schließt mit seinem Ausblick auf die Entwicklung und Herausfordungen der Kirche im Norden-Ghana im 21. Jahrhundert

Das Werk ist nicht nur eine Biographie von Erzbischof Kpiebaya, sondern auch eine Zusammenfassung der Geschichte der Gesellschaft und der Kirche im Nord Ghanas und eine Abhandlung der pastoralen Theologie und Führung. Der epische Prolog und der epische Epilog schildern die Geschichte in Versen, bringen das Buch aus dem Reich der Geschichte, Biographie und Theologie in das Land der Literatur. Gerade sein interdisziplinärer Inhalt macht das Werk zu einer wichtigen Quelle für die unterschiedlichen Forschungsrichtungen: weltliche Geschichte, Kultur, Anthropologie, Theologie, Entwicklung, Kirchengeschichte und Englischer Literatur.

Ihr Werk im Verlag Dr. Kovač

Bibliothek, Bücher, Monitore

Möchten Sie Ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit publizieren? Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere günstigen Konditionen und unseren Service für Autorinnen und Autoren.

Weiteres Buch des Autors

Dissertation: The Family as Subject of Moral Education in the African Context

The Family as Subject of Moral Education in the African Context

Incarnating Christian Ethics among the Dagara of North-western Ghana

Hamburg , ISBN 978-3-8300-0239-0 (Print)

Nach oben ▲